We Want To Believe

As you may know, I’m a lawyer and my husband ( my BMD, “Beloved MD”) is a doctor. He is MY doctor, I’ve never known him to be wrong, I will always do what he recommends. Case in point, we have gotten all of the Covid jabs as they became available. 4? 5? I’ve lost count. It was only the second shot which made me feel I mighta been better off contracting the disease itself: I couldn’t possibly have felt any sicker.
But he is the ONLY reason I’ve submitted to this. The “vaccine”, unlike every other nostrum so designated, does not keep you from getting nor transmitting Covid , as we now know. Does it even lessen severity? How can we be sure, given that the disease is following the usual course, becoming less virulent so it doesn’t kill its hosts before they can spread it around?
I’ll tell ya( because I’m not allowed to say so in front of him) : it’s ok that I got the shots, I ain’t gonna be breeding—but I wish with all my heart that our daughter had NOT gotten them. Who knows what we have yet to find out about the long-term effects?
But I think my BMD’s attitude is in part due to faith in his profession. When you’ve undergone a rigorous educational and initiation such as medical school and internship used to be in past decades, followed by years of private practice (which is—was—like standing in a river, constantly warding off dangerous detritus while remaining steadfastly upright) you really don’t want to, and actually can’t, believe it all wasn’t worth it, may, at any given time have just been a mass delusion.
And I’m the same way about law, and my BMD chides me for my remaining faith in our legal system.
He’s right. Take the Sussman trial (please!) He was charged with lying to the FBI. He DID lie to the FBI! We have the Emails! The same crime used by Comey et al to drive Michael Flynn into disgrace and bankruptcy. But this gent? Acquitted on all counts.
HOW can I still believe in any kind of “justice”? It’s delusional.