Cytoarchitectonics

As a pre-med, I studied lots of biology, beginning with invertebrate, which I found fascinating - so much so that I briefly considered becoming a marine biologist (until my dad used his considerable child-of-the-depression influence to steer me back to medicine - “doctors always eat”, he said). Anyway, we moved on to studying embryology, including morphogenesis - how individual organisms develop into their characteristic body forms. The similarity of different phyla of animals at early stages of development is quite remarkable, leading to the speculative aphorism: "ontogeny recapitulates phylogeny".

In those days before computer graphics, in order to study 3-dimensional development of organisms, organs and tissues, we looked through the microscope at thin serial (cross and longitudinal) sections through embryos in order to mentally reconstruct the 3-D structure at various stages of development. Nowadays, this can be much more quickly learned with animated 3-D graphics. You could say “a graphic is worth a thousand sections”.

Left unasked in those days were two obvious and fundamental questions, as the answers were mere conjecture with little if any science: how do cells 1. differentiate - become structurally and functionally different from each other; and 2. how do they arrange themselves in space so as to form a morphologically recognizable member of the species to which they belong. To take the second question down another level - how, for example, do skin cells in the human finger “know” how to arrange themselves in relation to each other? How can they “know” with sufficient precision to even create unique fingerprints in one individual, for example? Is there some kind of biological GPS at work?