Resisting Vaccine Mandates - with words, at least

I work as an independent contractor physician at a drug/alcohol rehab, which has just notified all its employees and contractors that, on pain of withdrawal of Medicare and Medicaid funding (80% of this institution’s) ALL workers must be vaccinated. Here is the letter I wrote in response.

Dear Mr. CEO:
For personal reasons and not without ambivalence, I decided to be vaccinated, so I will not present [name of institution omitted] any problems insofar as the latest ill-advised mandate imposed by our betters in Washington. As well, by my own choice, I wear a mask indoors and a PAPR when taking care of patients. None of this means, however, that I think this mandate is moral or right. Were the death rate from Covid in the range of 50% like Ebola for example, it would be a different calculus. The fatality rate of Covid, though, is in the same range as a bad flu season, so I believe vaccination ought to be an individual choice. No one should be forced when it comes to vaccination for this pathogen with its low death rate. Once “the public good” is invoked by the state to eliminate individual choice when it comes to health, virtually any command can and will be justified by the state; there is then no limiting principle to restrict its power to eliminate an individual’s rights and prerogatives. Enlarging the state’s power is not an unmitigated good, by any means. This is not new knowledge - “the camel’s nose under the tent” aphorism applies here.