Scale of the problem -- Nature Preserve Earth

Maui on its best day…” is the way Bezos describes the space habitat environment’s attractive force to depopulate Earth, turning it into a nature preserve. This is an orders of magnitude greater “Scale of the problem” than has been addressed in the prior two original posts here by Keith Henson regarding SPS and CO2.

I’ve been working this angle since the 1980s Sierra Club retreats in the Laguna Mountains outside San Diego with the theme “What Good Are Humans?”.

Most recently has been my proposal to depopulate Earth’s land masses with self-replicating “Maui on its best day…” artificial atolls in the Western Pacific doldrums built with in situ resources of both mass and energy:

The economics start out being the real estate value of “Maui on its best day…” atolls supporting 100,000 people each. After 16 doublings (to accommodate all 7 billion of Earth’s population) the industrial learning curve reduces the cost of a beach front condo to under $10,000 per family of four. Back of the envelope calculations indicate this could happen within 15 years of the first atoll “cell” capable of self-replication.

The only big environmental challenge is chlorine waste produced by the replication of these artificial atolls. That Cl2 may be injected into the connate fluid available 1000ft beneath the already several-kilometer deep ocean floor turning it into CaCl2:

If a means is found of converting CO2 extracted from ocean and air, into the highly stable and marine environment robust chlorinated polyvinyl chloride, Cl2 could end up as structural material of the atolls, thereby valorizing the Cl2 evolved from atoll replication. In any event CPVC is quite dense and would, in the event of atoll destruction, fall to the ocean floor along with the atoll’s EdenCrete (Calera concrete reinforced with graphene produced from atmospheric CO2).